City: Manchester
Country: UK
Genre: Alternative
Styles: Post-Punk, Synthpop, Indie Rock, New Wave


Soup! are a five-piece post-punk band hailing from Stretford and Chorlton in Manchester. Members Matthew Beswick (Vocals/Guitar), Connor Riley (Guitar) and Ben Smith (Drums) met as teens and bonded over a shared love of music, and quickly began playing covers of punk favourites such as Buzzcocks and The Clash.

During 2019, after years of being separated by university and work, the boys decided to formalise their previous bedroom jam sessions, and Soup! was born.

With the addition of bassist and former Florin member Hayden Gouveia (Bass), and Rob Jones (Keys / Percussion), the final lineup took form, and the new dimension of funk-laden basslines and 80’s synth melodies added the final ingredients to Soup!

Since the arrival of final member Rob, the band has released the single The Acrobat, with B-side Self-Care. Both songs have been regularly featured on BBC Radio 1’s Introducing Show, along with BBC 6Music’s Mixtape Show and Radio X’s Xposure with John Kennedy.

Recording at Airtight Studios in Chorlton with Seadna McPhail (The Orielles/Blanketman) Soup! has established a sound which provides a modern take on the post-punk formula.

“Every song sounds like a single, especially the actual single, The Acrobat… In future years I will be retelling this tale and you won’t believe that such a small chance meeting sparked a future big band – they are that good.”

John Robb, Louder than War: Jan 5th 2022

Source [Spotify]
on HBN since January 15, 2022